People

Our research unit consists of an interdisciplinary group of scientists with a background in mechanical engineering, physics and medicine. Together we have expertise in numerical simulations, rheology, experimental characterization of flows and in-vivo imaging of the vascular system.

Institute of Science and Technology Austria
Institute of Science and Technology – Austria

Project A1 - Instabilities in pulsating pipe flow of Newtonian and complex fluids

Prof. Dr. Björn Hof

Prof. Dr. Björn Hof
Principal Investigator

mail
Institute of Science and Technology Austria
Am Campus 1
34000 Klosterneuburg
Austria
mail
bjoern.hof@ist.ac.at
mail
+43 (0)2243 9000 5801
Dr. Atul Varshney

Dr. Atul Varshney
Postdoctoral Researcher

mail
atul.varshney@ist.ac.at
mail
+43 (0)2243 9000 2083
Michael Riedl

Michael Riedl
Ph.D. Student

mail
michael.riedl@ist.ac.at
mail
+43 (0)2243 9000 2122

University of Bremen
Bremen University

Project A2 - Dynamics and Instabilities of particle-laden pulsatile flows in complex pipe geometries

Dr. Kerstin Avila

Dr. Kerstin Avila
Principal Investigator

mail
University of Bremen
Badgasteiner Str. 1
28359 Bremen
Germany
mail
kavila@uni-bremen.de
mail
+49 (0)421 218 51241
Bastian Bäuerlein

Bastian Bäuerlein
Ph.D. Student

mail
bbaeuerl@uni-bremen.de
mail
+49 (0)421 218 51256

Project B1 - Stability and transition to turbulence of pulsatile pipe flow with rigid and flexible walls

Prof. Dr. Marc Avila

Prof. Dr. Marc Avila
Principal Investigator

mail
University of Bremen
Am Fallturm 2
28359 Bremen
Germany
mail
marc.avila@zarm.uni-bremen.de
mail
+49 (0)421 21857825
Dr. Daniel Feldmann

Dr. Daniel Feldmann
Postdoctoral Researcher

mail
daniel.feldmann@zarm.uni-bremen.de
mail
+49 (0)421 218 57927
Daniel Morón

Daniel Morón
Ph.D. Student

mail
daniel.moron@zarm.uni-bremen.de
mail
+49 (0)421 218 57927

ETH Zurich
ETH Zurich

Project A3 - Flow-structure interaction in pulsatile flow

Prof. Dr. Markus Holzner

Prof. Dr. Markus Holzner
Principal Investigator

mail
ETH Zurich
Stefano-​Franscini-Platz 5
8093 Zürich
Switzerland
mail
holzner@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
mail
+41 (0)44 633 30 79
Till Zeugin

Till Zeugin
Ph.D. Student

mail
zeugin@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
mail

Saarland University
Saarland University

Project A4 - Cell shapes, cluster formation and irregular flow in the microcirculation
Project A5 - Margination and flow transitions in vascular flow

Prof. Dr. Christian Wagner

Prof. Dr. Christian Wagner
Principal Investigator

mail
Saarland University
Campus E 2.6, R 3.21
66123 Saarbrücken
Germany
mail
c.wagner@uni-saarland.de
mail
+49 (0)681 302 3003
Prof. Lars Kaestner

Prof. Lars Kaestner
Senior Scientist

mail
lars_kaestner@me.com
mail
+49 (0)681 302 2417
Dr. Thomas John

Dr. Thomas John
Senior Scientist

mail
thomas.john@physik.uni-saarland.de
mail
+49 (0)681 302 3944
Dr. Steffen M. Recktenwald

Dr. Steffen M. Recktenwald
Postdoctoral Researcher

mail
steffen.recktenwald@uni-saarland.de
mail
+49 (0)681 302 3943
Dr. Alexis Darras

Dr. Alexis Darras
Postdoctoral Researcher

mail
alexis.darras@uni-saarland.de
mail
+49 (0)681 302 3944
M. Sc. Alexander Kihm

M. Sc. Alexander Kihm
Ph.D. Student

mail
alexanderkihm@gmail.com
mail
+49 (0)681 302 3950
M. Sc. Yazdan Rashidi

M. Sc. Yazdan Rashidi
Ph.D. Student

mail
yazdan.rashidi@uni-saarland.de
mail
+49 (0)681 302 3943

Saarland University Medical Center
Saarland University Medical Center

Project A4 - Cell shapes, cluster formation and irregular flow in the microcirculation
Project A5 - Margination and flow transitions in vascular flow

Prof. Dr. Michael D. Menger

Prof. Dr. Michael D. Menger
Principal Investigator

mail
Saarland University Medical Center
Building 65
66421 Homburg/Saar
Germany
mail
michael.menger@uks.eu
mail
+49 (0)6841 16 26550
Prof. Dr. Matthias W. Laschke

Prof. Dr. Matthias W. Laschke
Principal Investigator

mail
Saarland University Medical Center
Building 65
66421 Homburg/Saar
Germany
mail
matthias.laschke@uks.eu
mail
+49 (0)6841 16 26550
M. Sc. Greta Simionato

Dr. Greta Simionato
Postdoctoral Researcher

mail
greta.simionato@uni-saarland.de
mail
+49 (0)6841 16 26559

Helmholtz Institute Erlangen-Nürnberg
Helmholtz Institute Erlangen-Nürnberg

Project B2 - Migration and dynamics of particles in complex geometries and flows

Prof. Dr. Jens Harting

Prof. Dr. Jens Harting
Principal Investigator

mail
Helmholtz Institute Erlangen-Nürnberg
for Renewable Energy

Fürther Straße 248
90429 Nürnberg
Germany
mail
j.harting@fz-juelich.de
mail
+49 (0)911 32169 113
Dr. Othmane Aouane

Dr. Othmane Aouane
Postdoctoral Researcher

mail
o.aouane@fz-juelich.de
mail
+49 (0)911 32169 108

University of Bayreuth
University of Bayreuth

Project B3 - Pulsating flows in the microcirculation

Prof. Dr. Stephan Gekle

Prof. Dr. Stephan Gekle
Principal Investigator

mail
University of Bayreuth
Theoretische Physik VI
NW2, Room 1.2.02.644
95440 Bayreuth
Germany
mail
stephan.gekle@uni-bayreuth.de
mail
+49 (0)921 55 4462
Katharina Gräßel

Katharina Gräßel
Ph.D. Student

mail
katharina.graessel@uni-bayreuth.de
mail
+49 (0)921 55 3043


Latest modification is made on 07-19-2021. Contact the web admin .